|| An utterance ||

A reminder of parallels of “what might have been”
In universes that had starry seas and wavy suns
Was the mistake, mine or yours?

What if I said I missed you?
I think 3 generations of butterflies passed
And yet, we are stuck
In the loophole of Egos and past lives
In a vicious circle like a pack of wolves.
Threatening every ounce of our love,
Long suppressed in a bottle, lost in the woods.

What if I missed you more?
Amidst the silence that lingered
Between dinner laughs laced with small talk,
And periodical ticks of the vintage clock.
I hear your chuckles and sighs
Echoing in hallways of forgotten memories.
I sense the water dripping off in the distance
A reminder of parallels of “what might have been”
In universes that had starry seas and wavy suns
Was the mistake, mine or yours?
Questions remain unanswered
Like cords of a landline forever tangled
As I swim across this seashore of people.

I don’t know if I miss you really
Or the image of you and I in my head
Do you think of us, on holidays?
Of what would have been a terrific
Downfall of a romance.
Winning against odds like champions
Yet, grounded in faults,
Like asymmetrical track paths
On a dewy morning sprinkled with canopy light.

Even after all this time;
I miss you enough,
To kiss the night air and utter
Your name like it was mine,
As I drive through the silent, curvy road.

– Srividya Vanamamalai

Canopy light & Shadow. #ShotoniPhone

2 thoughts on “|| An utterance ||”

Leave a comment